Marking Time

By Libra

Hot desking


To-day I hot-desked.

This is something I always dreamed of when I worked as a newspaper journalist, that the time would come when I could work anywhere, anytime, preferably somewhere warm...

Well that day arrived today. Armed with my laptop, ipad and iphone and wi-fi I moved myself outside.

Question is: how long will this freak hotel weather continue? Maybe a couple more days...


Yes there is the small problem of the screen in bright sunlight. But this was not a problem with the iPhone, which allowed me to text, email and do all my calls.
And I just had to move a few yards to be in the shade.

We may be heading for the deepest recession since the 1930s but I reckon that the tools of new technology will allow us to move forward into a better future.

For starters: why do people have to commute for one or even two hours to sit in front of a computer screen when they could do that in they comfort of their own home?
I know the arguments about personal contact and face-to-face meeting.
True to a certain extent but 8 hours a day 5 days a week?

What do you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.