Ukulele Hayley

By Ukulelehayley

Happy Birthday

Dr Seuss!
He would have been 111 today.
I made this hat for Alfie to wear on World Book Day when he was at playgroup. I remember the day so vividly as, up to that point, he had always refused to dress up in fancy dress.He's still funny about clothes and has strict rules about what he will and won't wear. When he was about 4 years old, he loved Dr Seuss books so I made him the costume, not really expecting him to wear it on the day. I was bursting with happiness and pride when I walked him down to playgroup in his Cat in the Hat costume. It felt like a real breakthrough.

The hat got recycled a few years ago for Poppy to wear to a Royal Wedding street party at school (that's when we added the hearts). I don't think Alfie would wear it now.

A manic day at school for me today as it was the first day of Science Week and the whole school were making chain reaction machines. The less said about the Reception class's efforts the better. 5 year olds let loose with cardboard, sellotape and scissors is a recipe for disaster. All I can say is, one little girl now has one pigtail significantly shorter than the other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.