A MIMent In Time

By justmim

Hi, my name's Mim & I'm great in the morning, awful in the afternoon and okay in the evening.

I've suspected this for some time but, rather than working with it, I have tried to fight against it. With a helpful push from my supervisor I am now trying to create habits to fit this pattern. This means settling down to write as soon as I arrive in the office (even before my first morning cuppa!), leaving admin until the afternoon and allowing time for occasional evening study sessions.

Or, at least, that's the plan. So far (okay, I'm on day #2 of my new writing strategy) it seems to be working well. I just need to remember stick to the plan for the next 18 months!

Before settling down to do some reading I decided to make the most of the remaining evening light (yippee, spring is on its way - albeit with snow!) and take a walk up the Radical Road. I came down windswept and refreshed. It may not be as fun as with friends but I really should remember to go up the Crags/Arthur's Seat or part thereof more often.

I am now sitting in front of several pages of notes, made not this evening but two years ago while writing my dissertation. I am congratulating my fourth year self for her extensive and neat notes, I think I have saved myself a few hours of reading! Had anyone told me I would be using these notes in a future PhD thesis I think I would have laughed & put them in the bin to prove a point. Yet here I am!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.