Finding the proverbial needle in the haystack...

On Saturday , Baxter our podenco dog lost his coat. We were out with the "pack", a whole group of neighbours and friends who walk with their dogs at the weekend through John Muir Woods, along Little beach and onto the Belhaven Dunes. Baxter is usually let off the lead as we walk up `Little Beach and goes off hunting on his own and then joins us at the end of the walk before we cross over the Bielwater Bridge. On this occasion he was at least five minutes late so I knew he must have been burrowing into a rabbit hole somewhere and lost track of the pack. Still he turned up OK but minus the coat which he had been wearing, no doubt stuck halfway down a rabbit hole. Yesterday I wandered the dunes in the vague hope of seeing a flash of red and grey and today I followed his most likely route through the dunes. As you can see from the bottom picture the dunes form a never-ending sea of maram grass which extends for approximately a mile and a third so it is no wonder I failed to find the lost coat. Over the years a number of dog related items have been lost in the dunes and all of the subsequent searches have failed to find the lost item. So why do I bother.. Sheer cussedness I suppose. The top picture is of a container ship anchored  off Belhaven Bay for the past two or three days which I had hoped to identify on my ShipFinder App but it does not appear, yet another lost cause.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.