Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

Bathing Beauty

The tui chicks entertained me well today. I have an old glass bowl filled with water for the birds to drink, balanced on the rail of the deck. The little sparrows line up around the rim drinking and occasionally dipping their toes in.

Hearing a commotion there today I found the two tui chicks, now in their adult plumage, squabbling over who was going to get in first. Regardless of the fact they are far too big for the bowl, in they went splashing and ducking under, spraying water for miles.

I had the camera handy and sat in my armchair photographing the performance. Most of the pictures were just a blurry mass of feathers and water drops, but here is one tui fresh out of the bath. The shady location and the freshly washed feathers have really enhanced the blue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.