Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

Birthday Goodies!

Well the start of this day hasn't been that good but it has got much better!
I was referred for an urgent appointment to our local hospital after a visit to the GP last week and was told that I would only have to wait two weeks because of the nature of the referral.  I hadn't heard anything so I contacted the hospital only to be told quite glibly that they just don't meet the national waiting time standards and my appointment will be in 4 weeks time. I was devastated with this news as I want answers much sooner than 4 weeks, so I am speaking again to my GP and may even have to go privately for tests if I can afford it.  I worked in the NHS for 34 years and not one of my patients ever waited this long for an urgent appointment and some urgent cases were seen within 24 hours.  I don't usually talk about this wort of thing publicly but I guess it's about time I did as patients are not being given the service they deserve.  Cancer, Heart Disease and Stroke are all national priorities and if we can't get these right, what can the NHS do?  After the news reports today of the deaths of babies and mothers in a Cumbrian hospital I do wonder what is happening to the NHS because I do believe that the staff are dedicated and hard working...so what's going wrong?
Well that's the rant over and done with and on to the better stuff...the postie arrived with a parcel from my son who is doing a naturopathy course (I think that's what it is!), he's a pharmacist but he's very interested in alternative solutions for medical problems.  He has made me a bespoke naturopathic first aid box full of wonderful goodies and lots of advice about what to eat (and not to eat) if you have the medical conditions I have!  I am overwhelmed with this gift and he has certainly surpassed himself.  Check out the web site www.nutricology.co.uk as he's written a hilarious article about making this gift and mentions stuff about not giving me things that could potentially harm my youngest son, who has a severe nut allergy...I wish him every success with this commercial venture!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.