Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Sunshine and Sculptures

The sunshine when I escaped from my darkened studio for an hour at 4 p.m. was very welcome indeed.  I'm wondering what on earth I will be taking blipfotos of when I no longer work in London every day, as there's always something to grab the attention in the big city.  The ornate sculptures gracing my journal today always make me smile as I walk past them on their lofty perch when approaching Broadcasting House from Oxford Circus.  They embellish an otherwise fairly plain and ordinary brick building with a cafe at pavement level, and therefore seem somewhat over the top and grandiose.  I'd love to know what the story behind them is.

As I'm always telling myself and anyone who will listen - "look up whenever you walk around London, you never know what you might see!!"



PS:  Out of a desire to satisfy my curiosity, I've now found this information which sheds some light on the history of the property and the meaning of the sculptures. Also, a rather lovely contemporary illustration of the house a year after it was built.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.