The_Word_of_DOG

By the_Word_of_DOG

Winter Vacation at the Jersey Shore

I took a work trip to Atlantic City, New Jersey. After checking into the hotel, getting lost 5 times trying to find the tower that housed my room and unloading, I had about an hour to waste until the room keys for my group would be ready, so I asked the first attendant I came upon how to get to the ocean :)

The second I walked outside, the wind whipped around me, and it was so bitterly cold, I almost gave up and turned back. Instead I strode across the boardwalk, climbed over the snow bank onto the dunes and before me lay the mighty Atlantic in all its grey and white wintry glory! Out on the beach the wind wasn't so biting, the cold was forgotten as I reacquainted myself with the sight, sound and the salty fresh smell that brought me back to my spiritual center. It reminded me that I am still in touch with the earth air water around me, even though the blanket of snow we were gifted this winter still covers everything and most likely will continue to do so until mid summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.