Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Home grown crocuses!

I am not much of a gardener...in fact I hate gardening. I do like pretty gardens though, and ours lacks colour, so at the end of autumn we (as in Gavin) planted lots of bulbs of tulips, crocuses, narcissus, allium and daffodils. Surprisingly, between the squirrels and Murdoch playing football all over the beds, they have survived, and here are some of our home grown crocuses! The tulips are in pots and they should be flowering in a couple of weeks time, I think.

I had a successful morning at the optician - well successful for him as I just helped to increase his profits for the year - I had my eyes tested and ordered new lenses and frames. I currently have three pairs of glasses - readers, which I need all the time these days, mid distance for the computer and piano, and distance ones for my mild astigmatism. I decided to try some varifocals for the first time - it is a nuisance when watching a movie or at a concert, wearing my distance specs and then to read a program or tell the time, I have to change my glasses - now the varifocals will be able to help with all of that.

I was delighted to hear that Sir Simon Rattle will be coming home to take up a position with the LSO from 2017. London may even get a new concert hall, if the rumours are to be believed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.