Goodbye Liz & thankyou for everything...

I had to go to see Paul G at the Haemophilia Centre today as I have concerns about a procedure that I am undergoing on 17 March 15.

Having been reassured and in the knowledge that both Doctors will now be talking to one another Liz my most "favouritist & bestist nurse ever" told me that she would be leaving at the end of the week.

Liz (on Right) has been nursing for 43 years and for a smaller part of that time has worked at the centre as my  "named nurse". The person who I could contact and best talk about "stuff". Over the years she has become more than just a Health Care Professional. Her & Carol have always got on very well too and if there was ever anything I didn't want to talk about then Carol would talk to Liz to break the ice. I shall really miss her.

Paul G also leaves at the end of May 15, but because he is the Centre Director I have never had as much to do with him as with his predecessors. To me Paul was always new. Dr (Charles) Rizza & Dr (Jim) Matthews were my main men especially when I was young. I can remember Dr M almost sitting on me in order to get a needle in my arm....I was only 5 or 6 at the time & terrified about what was happening. Living with Haemophilia has obviously had a big influence on me over the years...knowing what I could do & what I couldn't. The worst thing of course is what it has done to my joints now that I am in my 50s.  Both ankles are arthritic & "shot" an elbow is crooked & bent and I had a hip replacement 15years ago. Sorry I'm rambling a bit .....

Left the centre to get some drugs from the Pharmacy & had to wait an hour. Then home via Asda at Wheatley.

Sunny day - but cold.

N & R left for NY today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.