Celebration time

It's my 730th consecutive Blip, thus my 2nd Blip Day, so I must share a little sparkle and cheer and cake (of course) with you. Thank you very much to all my Blip friends for your support and for sharing your news and images, it's a delight to take part and see your shots from all around the world. I'm not sure if I'll still feel able to fill every day of this journal with Blips, but we'll see how far I'll get.

My festive day became even better because this morning I received a surprise package from the Asian Civilisations Museum in Singapore, namely Peter Lee's new book about the Sarong Kebaya, to which I have contributed when in Singapore by translating texts from Dutch to English for Peter. If you're interested, the book is called ' Sarong Kebaya - Peranakan fashion in an interconnected world 1500-1950' The book is the result of years of research and reflects in depth on the exhibition about this costume and its history at The Peranakan Museum in Singapore in 2011/2012 I was one of the docent guides for that exhibition and wrote an article about the exhibition here. I'm in the credits of the book, which is quite a thrill.

Thanks very much for your kind comments, congrats, stars and faves for yesterday's rose Blip for my mother :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.