horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

This is not just a pie....

... this is a port-braised hare and whisky bramble filling, encased in a perfectly short gluten-free pastry....

I've tried a few gf pastry recipes in the past, and they've always been 'okay', but managed to nail it today, and all with the aid of a mistake. Basically I made it too damned wet, and rather than bin the result, figured I'd try saving it. And I did. Magnificently I may add. No cracking, rolled out perfectly, buttery, just the right crumbliness

Going to try a sweet version tomorrow night...

Good day all round (it was about time), getting a load of DIY done, getting a ride in, having a decent conversation with a recruitment agent, and perhaps best of all the day's "don't screw this up Robson" moment.

I had a wee meeting at the offices of STV Edinburgh. I'm going to be doing some local history presenting, getting a chance with one specific item, but the guy I spoke to was also interested in a development of the idea. If I do well enough with the first then I might get the opportunity to do some more, and from there, who knows.

All down to me. I've got the chance to do something I've always wanted to do, always thought I could do, now just got to pull it off.

Now THAT is exciting. Though the pie runs it close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.