crabtree

By crabtree

Microadventure #1

First Microadventure last night!

For those who have never heard of Microadventures before it basically means sleeping outside somewhere in a bivy bag instead of a tent. It was created by Alastair Humphreys with the idea of getting more people out into the wild, and to get across the point that there is opportunity all around to do something exciting if you make it happen. 

So, I set off to Three Cliffs Bay on the Gower to see what it was like to sleep out in a big bag! I've done lots of camping before, and a fair bit of wild camping on my own in the mountains, but was still a little hesitant to get out there. Mostly because of the cold, but also you are more exposed in a bivy and I think with that comes a feeling that you might be less safe. This is of course rubbish as a tent offers no protection at all, apart from from the rain! 

My 'camp' was just below where I am standing in this pic; I had an amazing view of the sky, some stars (there was a ridiculously bright moon out). I layered up well and was actually warm for the whole night. I didn't sleep that well because of the bright moon but it was really nice to lie and watch the stars, planes making trails overhead and freight liners in the sea. 

Something a bit more wild next time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.