Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

He bangs the drums...

I'm just home from seeing one of my favourite bands, The Imagined Village.

A spicy salsa of traditional English music, Bhangra and electronica played by some seriously good musicians. It's the third time I've seen them and they just get better and better. The show was recorded by BBC Radio 3 but I don't know when it will be broadcast...

Afterwards I managed to speak to the whole band and had a particularly nice chat with youthful folk sensation Jackie Oates and sitar siren Sheema Mukherjee as well as the opportunity to get folk royalty Martin and Eliza Carthy to pose for pictures that I was very tempted to blip... BUT the star of the band has got to be percussionist extraordinaire and showman supreme, Mr Johnny Kalsi. So here he is!

You can see him performing with an earlier line-up of the band here...

Apologies for my lack of comments tonight but it's been a long, hot week and I must get some sleep!!!

Love to all and have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.