The Way I See Things

By JDO

Decanter

I'm nowhere near as dedicated a gardener as my good blipfriend teribirch, but this morning I decided that I really had to start the spring tidy-up before the weeds completely got away from me. I weeded, cut back and edged a twelve foot stretch of one of the front borders, planted three echinops which had missed being put out last autumn, and then fed and mulched the cleaned area. By which time I was walking like this - I think my back will be glad of a day off the digging tomorrow!

When I came back into the house I remembered that I hadn't opened my post, which this morning included a parcel from Switzerland: a WMF art nouveau liqueur decanter which I won in an eBay auction a couple of weeks ago. It's quite small - about 20cm tall including the stopper - but is in very nice condition for something made over 100 years ago, and I'm really delighted with it. The backdrop for this shot is a Liberty silk scarf, which seemed appropriate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.