The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

You Wanna Dance?

When I lived in Chicago, I had a nanny. Well, my daughters had a nanny. Her name was Flo. She was Mary Poppins. No joke.

Flo and I had a special bond. One thing that we both loved to do was cook! She would cook for me, and I would cook for her. It may sound twisted, but it worked!

I recently ran across photos from her bridal shower. I had it at my home in Illinois, and made a white chocolate buttercream cake that was one of the best things I've ever concocted. It even had fresh flowers on it!

Things happened, and for a short while, Flo and I had personal issues. She went to work at a restaurant as a prep cook, and I was lost in the great abyss of terrible babysitters. Life sucked.

One day, we reunited, had lunch at a Greek place, and I go to hear the story of her failed marriage and a date that featured an older Greek that asked, "You Wanna Dance?"

For some odd reason, that phrase entered my mind as I was searching for something to cook from the ingredients in my freezer and pantry. I had shrimp, chicken breast, and coconut milk. My choice of vegetable was spinach or broccoli.

In the end, I took the two proteins and made a coconut curry with a touch of ginger, garlic, and lime, and served it over steamed spinach. Low-carb, low-fat, and a fine dance of flavors.

I have lost touch with my dear friend Flo, but think of her often, and wonder what she is up to these days. Where is she? How is she doing?

Does she know I still love her?

Does she still, "Wanna Dance?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.