Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

A Soldier in the Family

I am killing two birds with one stone today.
 
My grandson has a school project to research a line of his family, then write a biography of one individual of his own choice. Who better for him to interview and question than Grandma, the family historian?
 
He has chosen to write about his 2x Gt Grandfather, a soldier, who at age 16 lied about his age and ran away from home to enlist and fight in the Boer War. He didn’t last long, developing severe dysentery after drinking the water a horse had died in and was invalided back to Northampton, UK.
 
Called up again on the day WW1 was declared, he served in the local barracks for the next 4 years before dying aged 38 of rectal cancer - brought on by that long standing dysentery and leaving 5 small children orphaned.
 
One of the orphaned children was my father, who at age 16 organised to emigrate with a sister to New Zealand. I wonder how many 16 years olds could manage that level of responsibility today.
 
So, today on a wet, windy and drought breaking morning, I photographed a medal and other souvenirs for my grandsons’ project. And, as the weather was too bad to go outside, decided to make it my blip as well.

Perhaps too, someone can tell me what the scene is, illustrated on the medal?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.