loisbiz

By loisbiz

Beautiful Blossoms and Big Pink

I didn't plan it....it just happened....I ended up in downtown Portland.....on this beautiful day. I drove up a street near the waterfront park and there it was: A parking spot! I had to take it; and added the fee for the maximum of 90 minutes. I took my camera and walked along the river; I was enchanted and fascinated by the sights. Police were patrolling on horseback, bicycle and boat. Young people were sitting around playing music and smoking pot. Lots of runners, walkers and bike riders. People with heavy coats and people with no shirts or shoes. Jet skis zooming up the river and fishing boats trolling for fish. All this in our downtown area. We have a wonderful open space all along the river that divides town. We have several bridges connecting the east and west sides of town.....all quite different and beautiful....and walkways on both sides of the Willamette River. Lovely place for a walk.  

This photo was taken toward downtown up one of the tree lined streets. This office building was quite a sensation when it was first built many years ago.....we nicknamed it big pink for obvious reasons. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.