Pink Bicycle Girl

By angelahen

Success!

Mentioned that I was practising reading aloud yesterday - this is the book I had to read to 4 children whilst being observed by 4 adults at my interview today. The whole process was immense! There was 7 of us to be interviewed out the 135 that applied so that was pretty good. When we arrived we had to pick letters out of a hat to decide who would read first to a set of children. I was 2nd. This was stage one.

We then met some of the staff at break time. After this we were called into the Head Teachers office individually and told whether we were through to stage 2 or not. I was 4th to go in - and got through! There was 4 of us to be interviewed for 3 posts. Again we pulled names out of a hat and I was 2nd again. We all decided to stay and have lunch together. So 2 were interviewed before and 2 after.

The interview - I had no idea how I did. All my experience is with older young people and adults but I did what I could. The Head told me we would know by 3 O'clock. 10 to 3 she rang to say that they were very impressed and they would like to offer me the job! Although all 3 posts were to start in September she has money in the budget for me to start after half term.

So no I am back in the land of fabric buying!! I can't really believe that I had such a hard interview - not just the reading and the actual interview but sitting with all the others waiting to hear if we had got through to stage 2 was pretty nerve racking! I don't think I have ever been through such a rigorous process for such a low paid job. I will be on about half what I was on at the council

The school seemed lovely - very friendly. Excited and scared. Now I have 2 weeks holiday before I start.

Mr PB bought a special bottle of wine to celebrate - what a great end to a week and fantastic start to the weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.