not seeing straight

By jaybroek

The Calton Road Art Collective

...so there was this stepladder making a nice silhouette under the Calton Road bridge near the entrance to Jacob's Ladder. You know the spot. Nice juxtaposition I thought. I think words like that sometimes. Don't say them out loud though. You don't know who's listening.

So I take a shot of said vaguely interesting composition and continue on my way only to hear the dulcet ring of a scouse voice enquiring if I was from the planning department. I reassured the scouse gentleman that I was not of an official persuasion and that I was just your average ladder photographer.

Which is how the chat started and from this less than promising start I went on to learn many things about Chris and Jimmy. The portraits you'll now find under Calton Road bridge are Chris's (who has a Bradford accent and is from Edinburgh) and Jimmy (a Glaswegian with a scouse accent) is involved in all sorts of public art projects around the city including the Leith walkers stuff and the recent art explosion in Fountainbridge.

Oh... and he let me in on a piece of Cigs intel... which was intriguing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.