Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

The Old Abreuveurs of Guernsey #1

Another beautiful day. I wanted to go to Sark but the boat was fully booked so decided instead to get the bus to Cobo and walk home again. I actually got the bus to Grandes Rocques and walked to Cobo. I nearly blipped that photograph but decided there would be plenty more blue sky and beach shots. From Cobo I headed inland past what I believe is Guernsey's only proper bridge; it doesn't span a river, because we don't have any but spans the road. It was built by Lord de Saumarez because he wanted to be able to walk from Saumarez Park to the coast without leaving his land. You can read more here.

I eventually passed the abreuveur which I have blipped. An abreveur is a trough for watering livestock and there are quite a number around the island. So I have started a new series and will add to it from time to time. The reason I blipped this today is because the route I took has so many roads without footpaths that I really didn't feel safe walking there so may not be that way again. It isn't really any safer on the roads that do have footpaths because people drive on the footpaths without slowing down.

Closer to home I passed my old infants and junior school and took a lovely photograph of it. Amherst Junior School. I didn't blip this today because its very close to home so I can get a photograph any day that the school is closed. If its open there are parked cars obscuring it. I'll try to think what tales of my school life I can repeat when I do blip it!

Many thanks for the lovely comments, stars and faves on recent blips. All this walking means I run out of time so have fallen a bit behind with comments yet again. Please bear with me...

I went out again this afternoon and took some shots with the IR camera. I've put some on flickr. I don't really have a clue what I'm doing so any critique will be very welcome. I have created a white balance profile for the camera so have used that but apart from that I've just played in Nik...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.