McZoo

By McZoo

Travel Day

I had planned to return home on Friday from my month away at mom's, but the weather had a different plan. Due to the snow, sleet, and ice I had to postpone the trip for a couple days to feel safe making the four to five hour drive. When I finally made it home this, an excited husband, and really excited four legged children were waiting for me. I also got a cool shot of the icicles on the bush in front of my house, but I thought this one went better with the next part of this post. 

Mom and I have decided to do a weekly writing challenge. I found a PDF of 365 writing prompts, so we will each be choosing one a week to write (or more). I'll be posting mine here - attached to my photos (which I hope will have some correlation). I'll bold the titles to help distinguish my daily recollections from the prompt. 

All Grown Up

I chose this one for today because delaying something you are really looking forward to because of weather (conditions, life events) is sort of a mature thing to do, which shows growth. But that doesn't keep you from feeling just as trapped as the green grass squashed beneath the ice in my photo. 

The first time I ever really felt like an adult was in my last year of college. I was working full time nights, living in my own apartment, managing a full time course-load that was heavy on the upper level sciences, had several pets, and my boyfriend lived several states away. By all rights I had been doing the adult thing for awhile, I thought. But there is nothing like coming home from a 12 hour night shift and walking the dogs wanting nothing more than your PJs and bed but knowing you had to do some laundry to make you feel full of mature responsibility. However, when I went to the laundry closet (because that really is all the space you have in an apartment) I found my detergent in a thick, blue, sticky puddle all over the closet floor and dirty clothes sitting in the hamper (including some that were dry clean only). I could have cried, but instead I called my mom (while scrubbing the bubbly detergent off the visible sections of floor - because I'm still not adult enough to move the machine to clean under it) and ranted about just how much adult responsibilities suck before starting the laundry. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.