@ la martelliere

By Turts99

It's news to us.

There was only one ferry arriving at Sanday today and only two passengers needing the bus. I picked up some waifs and strays on the way but the working day was soon over. All I had to do was drive J-Lo, our vehicle, to the garage for it's pre-MOT test.

The mechanic is up at Burness, so I had to take my rusty, single-gear mountain bike and cycle home to Sellibister (Salr bol-stadir) about seven miles away. There was no rush, which is just as well, and I had the camera with me.

The landscape has been stark and predominantly empty for many months, indeed much of it remains under water due to the excessive rain. But things are beginning to look up. The fields are turning green again and the shoots of recovering are raising their heads. 

The road to Burness is lined with evergreen and deciduous hedging. Obviously there's not much happening under the bushes still in leaf, but the bare ones offer an opportunity for a splash of snowdrops. 

Apparently, Spring is here. Even here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.