some southernly love

It always works. I spend some time with my wonderful friends and I feel better.
I travelled down on the early train this morning feeling very groggy. Last night turned into a great night of drunkery with The Wan True Wolf watching John Spillane play as part of Glasgow's St Patrick's Day celebrations. I got home very late and was out extra early. All this added up to a hazy head as I headed south.
When I arrived at my friends in Hexham a brunch of perfect poached eggs awaited. We went to Corbridge for a walk along the river Tyne and up to the ruins of a Roman fort. The wind was fierce and certainly blew off any cobwebs that remained from the night before.
The mallard was one of a group of ducks that waddled towards us as we descended the path to the river. They were comical and obviously felt that our approaching footsteps meant food. I love ducks and I love the enigmatic expression on this one. It always cheers me seeing them in the air. Each time I see them I smile. I smile because it looks so unlikely that they are up there. They are all panic and neck and struggle then helter skelter splashing and skidding back into the water.
So we had our walk. A hair of the dog later in a pub in Corbridge them back to Hexham where I sit, the kitchen an aroma of a Goan spice market. Delicious. I'm having my dinner cooked for me. I wish I could put a link to the gorgeous fragrance around me as I type. Food and friendship and a cheeky wee red wine. Perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.