Pussy willow

A bit of an EB - grey,  mizzly and windy. I rang my brother and he assured me that it was 18C in Manchester and people were wearing shorts. I don't believe a word of it though a tortoisehell butterfly was looking  a bit dazed in our bathroom!
I wrote up the mammoth walk from the other day and have been dipping in and out of a book I'd ordered for a friend's birthday (don't tell him Finola) - Landmarks by Robert McFarlane.  Really interesting - he's looking at different landscapes and has rambled around Britain and Ireland, collecting long lost words used to describe different features. Here are some different words used to describe tracks:
cahzy: raised road, liable to flood (Essex)
droug: narrow path between hedges (SW England)
lagger: green lane (Hereford)
muxy-rout: deep muddy wheel rut (Exmoor)
strodi: lane between two walls (Shetland)
twitchel: lane between two walls (midlands)
wattery ionnin: neglected lane where water accumulates ( and I can't read my own writing where that one's from!)
Fascinating - I should have blipped a track. Plenty of muxy-routs down our boreen .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.