My World in Monochrome

By jc1959

It dulls my brain #FlyMayBe

It was probably not the wisest decision to work in Edinburgh on a Friday, and to have booked the 4:45pm flight back home. But at least I should be home by 7:30pm and that's only half of my evening gone. What could possibly go wrong?

Getting to the airport nice and early to enjoy the lounge facilities and have a bit of contingency seemed about right. But turning up at 3:45pm to find your plane already delayed by 2 hours just felt wrong. A one hour flight delayed by 2 hours, I'm sure there is a reason this happens but you'd expect them to handle this better than just moving the schedule along by a few hours, bring another plane into action perhaps?

Insult to injury, we didn't board 2 hours late, it was 2 1/2 hours late. Then the tractor unit broke down and we waited for a new one. They were getting anxious at this point as 3 hours delay triggers compensation under EU legislation. They must be very relieved to have only delayed us by 2 3/4 hours and I managed to get home by 10pm.

I wouldn't mind, but these are not low cost carriers, if I judge them by their fares, and despite a twitter exchange with them they don't seem too concerned about getting it right - so much for a klout score of >50 then.

Rant over!

So this is my view for more than 3 hours, the airport lounge. It is a very dull place to spend so much time and I know it could have been worse but regular customers do deserve better treatment if a company wants to keep them. They also clearly don't understand net promoter scores and customer advocacy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.