Creeper

I spent my afternoon stealthily creeping round the Forest of Dean in search of the Great Grey Shrike I'd heard so much about over the last weeks.
Not on my own there I might add as I met a few birders who were looking in vain for the same thing. Even with my hound, not the greatest sleuth I would add at this juncture, more interested in other dogs then the job in hand, it was a no show. 

To be fair I wasn't altogether sure I was in the right place! Then I met a couple who said they'd met someone who'd given them directions. They couldn't miss it (Oh yeah - that old chestnut) and the Shrike was just up where I'd come from. Nope. A total wild goose chase!

Tilly had a slight contretemps with two unleashed, massive dobermans! Why oh why?! She would just have been a light snack for them!! At times like that my heart is in my mouth especially as we were so far from the car.

However did catch sight of this lovely Tree Creeper on returning to the car so not a completely wasted journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.