It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

The Weekend is Too Short

I was up just in time to make the train to Manchester for ParkRun. Sitting there, I was thinking that maybe staying in bed for another few hours would have been a better idea.

The 5km was fun with my legs feeling alright. I decided to start nearer the front than normal, which was a good idea. The first 1.5km can be chaos but I was in a world and didn't notice. It was feeling hard but I wasn't going to slow down. Coming towards the finishing line a chap that had been on my heels for ages decided to pass! Normally I don't respond but his breathing was right at the limit! I kicked for the line and pipped him by a second! 

The joy of running is that it never gets easier! You just suffer at a faster or slower pace. People were still collapsing over the line 10 minutes after I had finished. Mind you, my legs were dead as I jumped on my Brompton folder!   

It was good to get home to the sofa and an episode of The Musketeers! I love that programme! 

Then in was back into Manchester and a visit to the Whitworth Gallery. Police were everywhere! Subsequently, I found out there was an English Defense League and an accompanying anti-fascist one going on! Glad I missed that! 

Sadly I wasn't in the mood when I got to the gallery! It's a good few miles walk and my mind wasn't open to art. It was too busy and there was even a queue to get into the cafe! Hmmmm..... although the space is much improved, I think I preferred the old quieter iteration. It's now definitely a gallery to go on a weekday! 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.