Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Highmoor Brook, Oaken Clough, Peak District

That I was oblivious to the possibility for most of Friday came down to not checking my messages.  My walking partner had sent an enquiry as to whether I was up for a walk today at breakfast but I didn't notice until tea time.  It took me all of 10 seconds to grab the phone and say "yes".

We decided on the Peak District and a quick discussion on meeting up and we'd plumped for a walk to Shutlingsloe, a small hill reminiscent of Roseberry Topping with a very similar profile.  It is probably the reason it is sometimes called the 'Matterhorn of Cheshire'.  It is the third highest summit on the national park at 506 metres.

We started from the delightfully named Wildboarclough and initially walked away from the mount.  All of the time the weather was improving and although windy by the time we reached the summit only high cirrus clouds were left.

This is taken earlier in the day at Oaken Clough, close to the Hanging Gate.  I love the way the trees sit in the landscape, usually in small groups.  I got neck ache from looking around, seeing images just about everywhere I looked.  I curtail my passion for photography (a bit!) or our walks would end in the dark.  I have posted a few more images on Flickr and Facebook.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.