momcat1

By momcat1

Ducks on the water.... an eagle in the sky

I needed to get out for a walk today and I didn't want to take the usual route up to StewartRd. So Glenn suggested Otsiningo Park, which has a nice series of paved  trails along the river and through the park. I really did not think we would see anything much and for most of the walk I was correct. We could see some black and white ducks , but just a few, on the river  on the way out.A few crows were bothering a redtail, but by the time I got the camera up he gave up and flew off. On the way back Glenn walked ahead , it was getting colder, and I saw a bunch of ducks and wanted to try to get some photos. I had the 300mm lens on and no tripod, but I figured at least I could try to identify the ducks. I really didn't think any  of the shots were decent(I was wrong) but just as I started to walk back to the car a really HUGE dark bird flew into view coming up the river. It was unquestionably an eagle but which one ? There are a fair number of bald eagles on the river now , so at first I thought it was an immature bald from the coloring but as it flew by I noted the area under the tail was dark red and the head was really dark. The photos unfortunately were only good enough to ID it as a golden eagle. Only the second I have ever seen , not a frequent visitor and probably heading north for spring> the last one I saw was not close and was heading south . The ducks turned out to be another find and are hooded mergansers.. listed in Sibley as uncommon . A unexpected and surprisingly good bird day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.