The Leader of the Pack

It was the Meadows Marathon, Half Marathon, 10k and 5k today, and the organisers had obviously communed with nature, ensuring a beautiful springlike day for the event, with just a little west wind to cool the runners down.
All the events were staggered, and as His Lordship and I meandered back from our Sunday toast we encountered the lead runners in the Marathon and 10 K races.

Given the speed of #354, he was possibly hoping to win the 10k race. I doubt he would not have been running quite so quickly on the first lap of a circuit which included 14 laps of the Meadows, had he been an entrant for the full Marathon.

Now as I sit penning this, comfortable in my seat by the window, I can see the remaining full marathon runners trundling past before the start time of the 5k.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.