Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

A Legacy from Dad

This crocus is a little past its best now, but it has a personal significance for Mum and me because it's a poignant legacy from Dad - just one of many bulbs he planted all around his garden over a decade of living here in Tiptree.  There are also several cheerful polyanthus peeping out of the shrub borders at this time of year.  Every Mothering Sunday, Mum has been given a basket containing a potted polyanthus by the staff at the local carvery where they've had a weekly roast lunch since they first moved here.  Dad would plant those out in the garden too, and they bloom every spring in vibrant deep pink, violet, maroon and pale yellow.  My sister, my niece and I will be carrying on Dad's work keeping the garden lovely, and I can't wait to get started on it in just a few short weeks' time after I've left work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.