Archbishop of Canterbury

This is Rowan Williams who used to be the Archbish of Canterbury. His likeness is carved on the noticeboard at the entrance to the churchyard of St Dunstan's in Cranbrook. 

The current incumbent is Justin Welby and in this post he is head honcho of the Anglican church across the world. They are nominally based at Canterbury Cathedral but I think we all know that there is a hollowed-out volcano with a secret submarine pen somewhere and Welby gets the keys to the drinks cabinet as part of his appointment. Must be a reasonably chilled guy though because he's not had this reminder of the previous dude chopped up. He also didn't have the previous dude chopped up so that he could take the top job; Williams was exiled to Cambridge where he is the Master of Magdalene College. 

I was checking this because I must start finding work soon and I thought I'd have a look at the archbishoping game. Some of you might remember that I thought of applying when the Pope post came up but I didn't go through with the application because I wasn't sure I wanted to move to Italy. Canterbury, on the other hand, is just down the road and there is a house in London too so no big problem with location. It also doesn't seem to be "dead man's shoes" like the Pope thing. People can step down if they get a better offer. Anyway - this dude has been in post for a couple of years so he's probably not going to shift for a while and I'm not going for a lower-level job because they don't pay the living wage.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.