yvonnekgray

By Dollykgray

Schrems Cemetery

I thought I would join in the challenge of Sunday Cemetery suggested by Youoregan1.
The local village cemetery is typical of European towns. Meticulously maintained by the cemetery keeper as well as the relatives. There was quite a lot of activity late in the afternoon as visiting relatives are starting to change the adornments on the graves from the faded Christmas/winter dried arrangements to spring flowers. The graves and head stones are mostly granite which is quarried locally, and beautifully engraved. Stone masonry is still a profession here and  even the trade school in our village offers a course.

This cemetery appears to be quite recent with few graves older than early 1900´s. A quick search for its history in Google was unsuccessful so I will try again tomorrow.I wasn’t quite sure where to start with this challenge but I came home with a variety of themes. I am sure this will not be my first visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.