See The World

By Firesnapper

Watching the Watchers .... Farnborough Airport

I thought I would try a different perspective today, taking a shot of Plane Spotters .... taking a shot.

Now I am not a "Spotter" but I do enjoy being at the airport watching the varied aircraft movements, which I find relaxing (I am strange that way!!). It is amazing that the first powered flight in the U.K took place here in 1908. And before that, this was the site of the Army Balloon Factory (1904). So in effect, this area has been deeply involved with aviation for the last 108 years!

108yrs? A fact lost on some people who move to the area, and then complain about noise from the airport?????

Plane spotters are close knit micro communities, and they can actually increase the perimeter security of airports, able to spot a stranger immediately who may be parked or watching from the perimeter fence (Again, a fact lost on some Airport Operators). I myself dont get "looks" any more when I park up, and the guys are very friendly.

If you are in the Farnborough area with kids, take them to FAST - Farnborough Air Sciences Trust, a brilliant little Aircraft Museum, with knowledgable volunteers who are passionate about their museum.

F.A.S.T WEBSITE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.