Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

Tui

The tui juveniles have had a wonderful time in the tree today with four of them romping and chasing through the branches.

I decided to try and get a close up if I could and they didnt make it easy as they were reluctant to sit still. I also had to avoid the patchy shadows from the dappled sunlight. Eventually I ended up with a couple of shots that were okay.

I chose this one as it shows the growth of the white 'bobbles' which are a distinctive part of this bird and helped give them the nickname of 'Parson' bird. The feathery bits are unfurling from the strong centre stem on each of the two feathers that make up the bobble. The lacy cape across the shoulders in an adult, is also developing.

I think there are two different hatchings represented in my tree as two of the tuis have the white bobble feathers at a much earlier and unfurled stage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.