Andrew's Random Photos

By andrewhiggins

Reading the last Evening News

Today was the last day the paper I work for was published as a daily paper.
From now on the paper is a weekly, which is a significant historic day for Scarborough, as the Evening News has been published daily since 1883.
Many people I've spoken too will miss the daily paper, it's as if they suddenly realise what it means to them, and it's part in the life of the town. Well, it's done now. Daily papers don't come back once they've gone...
My song of the day, going round in my head, has been End of the Line by the Travelling Wilburys, a great song which seemed appropriate today.
I'll miss the rush of a daily deadline, but conversely, also looking forward to the slightly easier pace of work on a weekly.
I'll have to blip something about it next Thursday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.