Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Craft architecture

I took my favourite painting to the restorer today for cleaning and restretching.  It was fascinating to talk to a fellow restorer, albeit in a different field, and learn about the techniques that would be used, relining the painting with another layer of canvas and fusing both layers together with a hot wax process and a vacuum press and then cleaning the surface laboriously with different solutions.  On the way back, I called in at the National Centre for Craft and Design in Sleaford.  There was an exhibition of  architecture inspired craft work which I enjoyed.  I chose the children's work, creating the built environment from waste packaging, as I thought it had great colour and form.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.