*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

69/365: My Walter

This is the sort of picture that takes a bit of explaining I guess, but I'm tired so not sure I can.

It was beautiful in the park at lunchtime and yet I didn't see anything that inspired me to take a photograph. Perhaps there were too many people about, that always puts me off a bit.

Late in the afternoon when everyone had gone home and the office was quiet I looked down and noticed the picture of Walter reflected in the "apple" on my phone. The apple of his family's eye. He was that, for sure.

Walter was my nana's brother and died at Passchendaele in 1917. He has come to mean a great deal to me. I have done a lot of research about him, both online and in the real world - my Flickr friends must feel they know him intimately. 

He had almost been forgotten until, after my nana died, I found the photos of him, his letters from the trenches and other very emotive letters and items. I keep a picture of him on my desk to make sure that never happens again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.