Aint No Rushin

I certainly wasn't rushing as I pedalled along the canal to East Morton  after work today.  I had overestimated how long it would take me to ride from school so I was able to enjoy the lovely day at leisure.  I enjoyed today, supporting students with their English in class (why I loved teaching!) and discussing with them their progress and plans for after they leave school.  Most of them seem to appreciate the time to talk one to one about things important to them.

So why was I headed to East Morton?  Well Hannah has transformed me into something of a blond (just highlights!) to see if it works for Jen and Pete's wedding.  Certainly never had any blonde anything before so it will be interesting to see who notices any difference tomorrow!

I have to admit to a bit of showwomanship on my way along the canal today....a chap similar in age appeared from a side path and immediately overtook me and zoomed off along the towpath.  When he reached the hill at the side of the 5 Rise Locks, he got off his bike to push it.  This was an opportunity for girl power!  I magnanimously gave him the cyclist's nod as I pedalled past him up the hill, resisting the temptation to punch the air at the top.  I was one with the group of older women walking down with whom I exchanged sisterly glances.  My lungs may have been bursting and my legs dead at the summit........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.