White Peak View

As I promised myself yesterday, I went for a photo walk in The Peak District today. The White Peak rather than the Dark Peak. It's all to do with geology! 

I started at Alstonefield and headed off towards Milldale via Hall Dale and then back to Alstonefield. Here's the walk, just in reverse. I don't plan a huge walk as I'm always stopping to take photos, so about 5 miles is my usual distance.

It was fantastic blue skies and fluffy white clouds all day. This photo was taken just before I reached Hall Dale. I feel very lucky I can do this in the middle of the week.

I popped into my cafe at Trentham on the way home for a coffee. As I sat by the lake I watched a pair of Great Crested Grebes and followed them as they approached the reeds. To my delight, they'd started to build a nest on the edge of the reeds. I watched them gather more nest materials and continue to add them to the nest. I suspect not many people will even realise that they're there - it's my secret - so far.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.