without becoming pictures

By lani

A main street as they're meant to be.

We won't call this the best photo I've ever taken. The angles are odd, the lighting is a little off, it wasn't taken with any artistic forethought at all, actually. Instead, I wanted to capture the feeling of a well-timed change of perspective.

This afternoon is actually scores better than I imagined. Gentle A/C, strong coffee, agreeable music, beautiful surroundings, copper tabletops, a wall of windows, people with easy attitudes and great smiles, my own hair is soft and behaving well, I am far enough away to feel far away and aside from being behind on this project and needing to spend the rest of my day on it, I'm doing exactly what I want to be doing because I chose to, not because I felt like I needed to.

Needless to say, I'm absolutely coming back in the rain. I would live in this window ledge if I had my way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.