Brave Blue World

By OlliEcological

Hollywood I ain't.

Home late tonight and faced with a fridge full of veg that were on the turn I set about cooking everything into either a pie or a curry. This is the top of the former after it come from the oven. The sides look even worse.

No matter! It tastes absolutely lovely (cauliflower, onion, sweet potato, carrot and peas in Worcester Sauce gravy), though on reflection a short pastry would've been a better idea, as puff pastry just gets sodding everywhere.

The curry is stupid. I went to Lock's Garage today* and because they had a massive tray of Scotch-Bonnet chiles (at only a fiver a kilo!) I bought a great big bag full. When blending the paste I chucked four bonnets in with the garlic, ginger, onion and tomatoes and even bulked out hugely with spinach, more tomatoes, chickpeas, coconut milk and loads of fried onions it is still nuclear-hot.

However, notwithstanding the need to put a bog roll in the freezer (and the fact my kitchen looks like an explosion in a flour-mill) I've just cobbled together about ten meals for less than a tenner.

*travelled that way to go and visit Madley Environmental Study Centre; a beneficiary of a donation from the company I work for and an amazing place. Well worth a visit if you're in the area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.