Day 3

On the north island.

We had a fantastic tour of the caves at waitomo. Our tour guide, Norm, took the twelve of us on a slightly hair raising drive from the village to the caves.

In the first one we were put on a rubber raft then taken silently down the underground stream to look at the thousands of glow worms. I tried to take some photos but no luck. If I had been able to spend longer I think I may have got one good shot.

After that Norm made us a mug of tea before the five minute walk to the next cave. No boats, hats or head torches here but plenty to see.

Three and a half hours later we were returned to the village.

So glad we chose this tour rather than a quick forty five minute one with hundreds of others.

I know Ian on holiday so don't expect any sympathy but I am shattered!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.