tepeka

By tepeka

Awkward

This is St Anne's Cathedral in Belfast, which is, in many ways, a very awkward beast. 

First up, it defies the traditional description of a cathedral, serving two separate dioceses yet being the seat of neither. But somehow it's a cathedral even so.

Secondly, at least to me, it's impossible to find a nice angle from which to photograph it. I don't know how many pictures I've taken of it - scores, if not hundreds. And I've yet to get a decent pic. It's awkwardly located, so you can't get far enough away. Or, if you can get a bit of distance, there're trees or cars or other obstacles in the way. I've taken better pics of it than this in the past, but rules are rules, and this is today's.

Thirdly, you might notice the damn great spike sticking out the back of the church. Rumour has it the dean (see, no bishop!) was jealous of the Dublin Millennium Spire and commissioned his own to stick on the top of his church. It was built in 2007 and is officially called The Spire of Hope. It ends in a quite odd modern extension bit that sticks through the roof. I rather like it, in a complete clash-of-cultures kind of a way.

Anyway, not a great picture, but I think I just needed to get over the mental block of not finding the perfect one of St Anne's. Maybe now I can relax and  come up with a better one?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.