Paritutu

"Guarding the eastern end of New Plymouth's harbour is Paritutu (Rock), a remnant from a volcano which was active almost two million years ago." There is a track to the top of Paritutu, which requires agility as it is described as a "scramble". The views from the top are called "spectacular". The top of Paritutu was flattened by local Maori hundreds of years ago to enable Whare (houses) to be built, and also kumara pits.

This photo was taken from the Coastal Walkway about 2 kilometres further away from where I had enjoyed a simple meal of freshly caught gurnard, at Manou's Cafe and Restaurant on the edge of the harbour. The Stoke Amber light ale was at the perfect accompaniment.

The breakwater behind which is that part of the harbour where is Manou's, can be seen running out to the right of the photo.

I had seen the cafe when I was having an after work run; in the rain. I checked that it was going to be open later, and went back after a bit of tidying myself! I felt that I should go here, as the street leading to it is Gairloch Street, and my Scottish forebears travelled from Gairloch to Nova Scotia and thence to Waipu in New Zealand.

The first day of my new locum was very low key. I met staff, and was orientated to the local ways. Given an ID badge (they hadn't wanted my photo after all! A new one was taken on their camera in their way), and keys. Seven weeks ahead of me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.