peterdawson

By peterdawson28

Seeing stars

Sitting at the breakfast table this morning I saw a blur fly past the window and heard a dull thump. Investigations revealed this youngish robin lying stunned outside the door having failed to effect entry through the glass.

Young niece rescued him and placed him out of harms way with a small snack for when he revived, then she and her brother took a quick video of him as they headed off to school.

It was only after they'd gone that I realised I had a chance to grab a blip of bird with less chance of making a speedy getaway than me! By the time I'd hopped into position dragging a chair behind me and set a
up at a reasonable distance so as not to frighten him the patient had recovered a little. He turned away from me as though in embarrassment and after allowing a few quick snaps off he flew - almost straight into the window again! He then spent about 20 minutes carefully checking the window frames in the hope that somehow he'd missed an opening.

It did occur to me that by hanging various bird attractive foodstuffs inside the dining room windows I could encourage other subjects to come and pose for me but I wasn't sure that this was quite ethical!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.