The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Farewell Sir Pterry

A change of blip today.

My day stopped after lunch today with the sad passing of Sir Terry Pratchett.

His influence on me cannot be understated. I would go as far as saying no Discworld then probably no blip.

And to think it all started from a random selection because I liked the cover. The first two books I bought were Mort and Pyramids from an advert from a Sci Fi book club in a Sunday Supplement. I was addicted immediately and have bought all bar about 5 in hard back since. The whole python-esque nature of the world just appealed to me.

I never went to a convention so never met the great man. I really wish I had.

The out pouring of Pratchett quotes on Twitter this afternoon brought a tear to my eye.

I hope he and Death are sharing a bacon sarnie together now with Death Rats offering a consoling SQUEAK.

I leave you with the quote a lot of people have used today, and one that used to adorn the end of my outgoing emails ..

It is said life flashes before your eyes just before you die. That is true, it’s called Life.’ – The Last Continent

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.