Bakery or Pottery?

No, neither! 

This is a display of pupils' Chinese Terra Cotta Project at a local school. I gave my last Chinese New Year culture workshop there this early afternoon at the invitation of an assistant teacher whose boyfriend saw our Queen's CNY promotion leaflet. 

It was a belated one but I successfully brought the group of P7 pupils back to the festive atmosphere in some 40 minutes. It was beyond my expectation that they could all greeted me by saying '你好 (ni hao)‘ which means hello and they all said '谢谢 (xie xie - thank you)' and '再见 (zai jian - goodbye) in the end. The assistant teacher didn't know that, although fortunately I had prepared something more to teach them.

They were enthusiastic, active and interactive - for the first 15 minutes, I only went through 3 slides, fearing that I was going to run out of time, which was not in the end. Also played a live Lion Dance video clip and a Legend of the 'Nian (Year)' clip with non-standard multiple choice questions which brought the workshop to its peak, I thought.

Overall, very positive experience, feeling better than giving talks to silent adults sometimes. 

The other two photos are their China Project outcomes. The four characters (from right to left) says 'for everlasting friendship' - I think this is from their partner class in China - the other is a map of China with its geographical features.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.