Salts Mill

Today has been great!  Just before I went off to Church clean, this afternoon's lesson cancelled.  When I returned home we were off to Salts Mill in Saltaire.  We arrived around 1pm , and had a really good lunch in Salts Café and then went into the mill itself.  Hockney's work was so vibrant and really interesting.  I was very keen on the blown up ipad drawings.  I also loved the  fax picture 'Tennis' that he sent to the  Salts mill Gallery in 1989.  It was faxed from Los Angeles in 144 segments, each printed and pinned on a large board.  The event was televised and watched by many! Great publicity for Salts mill at the time!

There are two large galleries where they sell all sorts of books! Heaven! and a gallery of household and other beautiful paraphernalia as well as an antiques shop area!

We didn't try the restaurant but stopped on the way back in a huge Sainsbury's near Boundary Park Mill for a coffee and a hot chocolate with a good 4 inches of cream piled on top!  Guess which was mine! ;-)

My only regret was that I wasn't able to contact LoveLupins beforehand to meet her there!  Otherwise a perfect day!  I hope everyone had an equally good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.